My Goals for 2016

I want to say a few things about goals and New Year’s resolutions. I recognize that the very idea of New Year’s resolutions is ridiculous because time is a human-made construct, and separation of years is totally arbitrary in relation to a person’s capability of achieving their goals. If there is something you want to achieve or strive to start doing on a regular basis, you don’t need an invisible starting line that begins in January—just start doing it. I am a person who always strives to better myself holistically, everyday, regardless of what time of year it is.

However, I understand the appeal of the overarching “blank slate” or “fresh start” that society tells us comes with each new year. It is healthy to have goals and set benchmarks for when you’d like to achieve them, and I think a year is a good span of time in which to aim to accomplish certain personal goals. That said, setting reasonable standards is important. Saying, “In 2016, I want to do x, y, and/or z every single day!” just sets you up for failure. Those expectations are too high and that just sounds exhausting to me. This is why my goals are minimal and not meant to be daily events (my everyday goals are constant and always roll over into the next year; no need to share them here but you can see many of those in the  previous post).

Aim for balance, not perfection.

Goals:

  • Take voice lessons
  • Audition for a play or musical
  • Travel to a new place
  • Spend as much time with my dog as possible
2 thoughts on “My Goals for 2016

  1. I love it Bakes! You are spot on…”Aim for balance, not perfection.” Can’t wait to see the new place you travel to! And heck yes on auditioning for a play or musical!!!! Everyone needs theatre in their lives! Here’s to a healthy and balanced 2016.
    ~KSigs

  2. Hey Katie! Thanks for your encouraging words, which you are so good at giving. I hope your new job is going well and that you also have a healthy and balanced 2016!

    Hannah

Leave a Reply

