Sick Day Update

Hello world. It’s been a while. I think the last time we spoke I was showing off my newly finished sweater (that I have yet to actually wear for more than 15 minutes).  I want you to know I haven’t forgotten to write a blog about my trip to Cuba, that is in working draft mode, and I still haven’t gotten my film developed. I would really love to include the pictures in the post because they help tell the story. Here’s one from my phone to tide you over:

I'm not going to tell you the story behind this yet. You just have to ponder it until I finish writing that post. Suckas.
I’m not going to tell you the story behind this yet. You just have to ponder it until I finish writing that post. Suckas.

In any case, I have done other things besides going to Cuba since November. Important things: Joey and I have started bowling fairly frequently. That reminds me to look up some tips online for how to bowl better. Oh good, the first result is an angelfire-hosted site. Thank god.

I’ve been listening to NPR out the wazoo, to and from work every day. Sometimes when I get sick of hearing about Obama’s “opinion” that marijuana is no more dangerous than alcohol, I’ll flip over to the CSU student station. They play some pretty good stuff most of the time. I usually don’t recognize any of it.

Joey got a job. He’s working at a cabinetry place 50-60 hours a week. Crazy dude. I like hearing about the process and what he does at work all day, and when he says “polyurethane” (btw I spelled that correctly on the first try). He’s pretty great. I think Girlfriend Tha Dawg is lonelier (duh) being home alone all day. She does pretty well, though.

Speaking of Girlfriend Tha Dawg, she has worms. Grossout warning! The worms are totally in her poopy. Fortunately our new next door neighbor was a vet science student and is willing to examine dog stool and might be able to get us a prescription. Bomp. Despite the worms, Girlfriend is still a lovely and happy derg.

There's that pretty dog.
There’s that pretty dog.

I’ve been listening to the latest Backstreet Boys album A LOT lately. Here’s the thing, you guys, before Kevin left BSB their sound was pretty consistent in terms of style. Then he left and they made two or three really awful albums that were trying to be like all the music on popular radio that I can’t stand, and it sounded totally fake. BUT Kevin came back and this last album they put out in 2013 just sounds like them again and it makes me so happy. They’re corny and ridiculous and their songs really aren’t that good, but I love them anyway and I’m listening to this album right now (“In a World Like This” check it out if you dare). So there’s that.

Ah I love them. I dreamed last night that I Kevin and I did karaoke together. Boom.

Many books have been making their way into my life, but somehow I haven’t finished a single one since the new year. I do believe I should spend a large portion of my sick day today making some headway in “A Passage to India.” It’s a good read, though I admit sometimes I don’t know wtf they are talking about. I’ve also got a book about Kurt Vonnegut and another about the Dresden bombing. And to top it off with some fluff I’ve got a book about yarn! I’m trying to re-up on my yarn knowledge, for both work and just becoming a better knitter/fiber gal. The yarn book is by Clara Parkes, who wrote The Yarn Whisperer, which I read at the end of 2013. I wrote about it here, check it out!

I was knitting a lot before we left for Cuba, and since we got back I’ve mostly been knitting for work and so am a little burned out on it. I’m hoping to start the sleeves of another sweater I’m currently knitting. I need to finish up that sucker! Other than that I have an idea for a knitted collection in the works. I’m not gonna reveal what it is now! I’ve got some Etsy re-vamping to do and what-not, so I need to make a plan of action for that. More on that later.

I auditioned for the Larimer County Chorale. It went ok – I won’t hear about whether or not I’m in until Wednesday. I’m not too worried, because if I don’t make it, I won’t have to spend $110 on membership fees or moneys on a dress. So, win/win. I tried out and that’s the important thing. If I do make it, I think it will be a lot of fun.

I can’t really think of anything else right now, except that I missed Justin Timberlake at the Pepsi Center in Denver this past week. Bummer. Oh well, that would have cost me a couple of Benjamins. Just gotta let it go sometimes.

Here’s something for you before I go. It’s a photo from my first Fort Collins Friendsgiving. It was so warm on Thanksgiving that we ate outside. ‘Twas lovely.

For those who don't know: from left to right we've got Sarah (Awesome), Doug (IngerTall), Jerry Lutz, And Marlon Brando(n).
For those who don’t know: from left to right we’ve got Sarah (Awesome), Doug (IngerTall), Jerry Lutz, And Marlon Brando(n). They are lovely humans.

With that I will say to you, peace out, Girl Scouts. I hope this was fulfilling for you. It sure was for me. Love y’all like sisters.

Bakes

Leave a Reply

