#TBT?

Last week I attended an employee retreat with my fellow classified library employees. It was all day, and it was at the local zoo. It had been so long since I’d last visited our zoo; it was probably when I was a sophomore in high school, required to park in the zoo lot and walk through copious amounts of tick-y brush to get to the school. The zoo was different than I remembered, as an impressive new educational building has been built at its entry. Also, the animals and scenery looked quite a bit more pathetic than my childhood memories depicted in my mind. There were some things I recalled as exactly the same, though, such as the big pavilion where we’d picnic as elementary school kids during field trips. There was also an ape statue where the chimps and other non-human primates lived, and when I saw it I remembered a picture I had taken there around the third grade. I had a co-worker help me try to replicate the picture so I could compare then and now.

May 2013 080
“Then” (maybe around 1997-1998)
May 2013 077
“Now” (last week)

The angle isn’t quite right, and the second picture is missing a cute lady named Roxanne, but you get the gist. I thought I was a lot smaller back then, but turns out I’m still a pretty short human.

Leave a Reply

