Thought Catalog

This past weekend, I disappeared. I hadn’t done that in a long time. Just went off the grid, ignored phone calls, and flaked on all social obligations. Instead, I read a book, wrote, and ran some errands. I hung out in Washington Square Park by myself and went to a solo brunch. I bought a new sweater in Soho and went home and burned incense and cleaned my room.  Stupid, silly life stuff. It was actually very boring but sometimes you need that. When you start to feel like a raw nerve all the time, you have to take a step back and bask in the mundane because sometimes it’s the only thing that can make you feel normal again.

We live in a technological age where a lot is expected from us. Our jobs never stop. Communication with our friends never ceases, and to be honest, I don’t think…

View original post 365 more words

Leave a Reply

