Social Media Freakout!

I am having a problem. I have been completely overwhelmed by all of the online websites with whom I have signed up for an account. There are even things that I had an account with that I didn’t even know about. Something connected with my Gmail account that is like Google+ and Facebook put together? I have over five accounts for things that are simply connected with my Gmail account. I had a Twitter account for a few days, realized I didn’t use it for anything like I thought I would, and deleted it. I deleted my Pinterest account because I no longer use it. I deleted my tumblr account because I prefer this blogging interface much better. 

Yet, I still feel overwhelmed by all of the connections that are available through this website, and just how much STUFF is out there on the internet to look at. I know this is a good thing, but all the time that it would take for me to figure out how to navigate and use it, find the things that I like the best, and stay up-to-date on all those things, I feel I would have better benefited from doing the things I like away from the computer. Things that make me feel like a real person, like reading, and knitting, and my other hobbies that don’t have anything to do with a glowing screen.

I am trying to become more comfortable with a world in which technology is so widespread, and where everyone in the “first world” has 2-5 devices on them at any given time that will connect them with the rest of the world. I recognize that technology cannot, and will not reverse at this point, so why not try to embrace these conditions? I want to utilize the technology that is available, but in positive ways that really do make small differences in improving the world and expanding my and others’ knowledge. 

Maybe this will be a project I can work on. If I ever do want to become a librarian, I need to know what people are doing in cyberspace and how they are doing it. I’ll try to filter out the internet stuff that is clearly a waste of time. I guess that is what I was attempting with the creation of this blog. To cut the shit, and really focus on the things I want to devote my time to. I do log cute dogs, but maybe instead of looking at videos of other people’s cute puppies I can spend more quality time with my dog, and use the internet for finding resources that are informative for me to better my dog-care skills.

I don’t know why this is so difficult for me all of a sudden. Maybe it’s because I haven’t HAD to be on the computer all the time and want to distract myself from my school work with silly internet things for a little while. And now I’m just realizing how much is out there. Actually, I have no idea. I’m sure I can’t fathom how much is out there on the internet. Think about all the passing information about new websites I’ve never seen, every single day. It’s scary. 

I think I am going to take a break from thinking about this topic and just go upstairs and read a book. I just finished Tina Fey’s “Bossypants,” and am beginning the novel “Everything is Illuminated,” Jonathan Safran Foer. I remember the movie being touching, but I watched that a long time ago and don’t remember much, but I think I might want to watch it again after I read it. Elijah Wood is pretty great. 

Hannah

Leave a Reply

